UNAM awards best health sciences students

11 Apr 2017 18:00pm
WINDHOEK, 11 APR (NAMPA) – Dean of the University of Namibia (UNAM)’s Faculty of Health Sciences, Professor Peter Nyarang’o wants a school of pharmacy established at UNAM’s Oshakati Campus.
He said this while speaking at the faculty’s meritorious awards ceremony held in Windhoek on Monday.
The Faculty of Health Sciences is represented at five of the 12 UNAM campuses countrywide, namely at the main and health campuses in Windhoek, as well as Oshakati, Rundu and Keetmanshoop.
The faculty comprises the schools of medicine, pharmacy, nursing and public health, but only the main and health campuses have all four schools.
Nyarang’o said he would like the health sciences faculty developed even more, and called for the introduction of a school of pharmacy there.
He also said it is the only faculty which has an associate dean at the Oshakati Campus.
Speaking at the same event, Minister of Health and Social Services Bernard Haufiku, who was involved in the establishment of the School of Medicine, said he is proud of where the school is today.
“I am a believer in UNAM and the School of Medicine right from the beginning and my faith in this institution just keeps growing,” he said.
The School of Medicine opened in 2010.
Haufiku said the school produces doctors of such high quality that even at fourth-year level, they would be able to run a clinic and make a diagnosis.
The awards recognised the performance of exceptional students and lecturers in the School of Nursing, School of Medicine and School of Pharmacy.