No Mo Ibrahim Prize winner for 2016

28 Feb 2017 18:50pm
WINDHOEK, 28 FEB (NAMPA) - There is no winner for the 2016 Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership, the Mo Ibrahim Foundation announced on Tuesday.
A statement issued by the foundation noted that the Chair of the Ibrahim Prize Committee, Dr Salim Ahmed Salim said after careful consideration, the committee decided not to award the prize in 2016.
The announcement was made following a meeting of the independent prize committee, chaired by Dr Salim and the Mo Ibrahim Foundation’s board last weekend.
Candidates for the Ibrahim Prize are all former African executive heads of state or Government who have left their office during the last three calendar years (2014-2016), having been democratically selected and served their constitutionally mandated term.
The prize recognises celebrated African leaders who under challenging circumstance have developed their countries, lifted people out of poverty and paved the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity.
Dr Salim was quoted as saying the foundation recognises and applauds the important contributions that many African leaders have made to change their countries for the better.
“But the prize is intended to highlight and celebrate truly exceptional leadership, which is uncommon by its very definition,” he said.
Since its launch in 2006, the Ibrahim Prize has been awarded four times. The previous Laureates are Namibia’s former President Hifikepunye Pohamba (2014); President Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011); President Festus Mogae of Bostwana (2008) and President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007).
Former South African President Nelson Mandela was the inaugural honorary laureate in 2007.