NSW to be operational next year

27 Feb 2017 20:10pm
WINDHOEK, 27 FEB (NAMPA) – The first phase of the National Single Window (NSW) project, aimed at improving the competitiveness of cross-border trade in Namibia, will be operational by March 2018.
Speaking at a consultative workshop on the NSW project here on Monday, Minister of Industrialisation, Trade and SME Development Immanuel Ngatjizeko said the project will allow customs declarations and applications for import and export permits; and certificates of origin and trading invoices through a single online window.
“This NSW will act as a trade facilitation tool and therefore will alleviate such burdens for the trading community,” Ngatjizeko said.
He noted that one of the benefits of the NSW is that it will lead to an increase in government revenue, enhanced compliance with rules, improved efficiency in resource allocation and better trade statistics.
The system will also allow for faster clearance times, reduced costs, more transparent and predictable processes and less bureaucracy for all traders.
In addition, it will improve transparency and governance, reduce corruption and increase trade volumes and economic growth.
The minister said setting up the NSW environment is complex and to keep the implementation to a manageable level, a phased roll-out of the features over three years is proposed.
The first phase, to be delivered by March next year, will involve implementing a NSW that will act as a catalyst towards far-reaching reform and modernisation of operational processes across many ministries and government agencies.
The two remaining phases, to be operational by March 2019 and March 2020, will be achievable by focussing on project governance and an influential project to mobilise agencies from the various government ministries and the private sector.
“I want to encourage all cross-border regulatory agencies to identify project leaders in their respective organisations to coordinate the activities related to business process re-engineering,” he said.
The system is currently operational in countries such as Japan, Malaysia, Kenya, Rwanda and Tanzania.