National Council to swear in first junior MPs

15 Feb 2017 18:00pm
WINDHOEK, 15 FEB (NAMPA) – The National Council (NC) will Thursday swear in 42 new junior Members of Parliament (MPs) from all 14 regions of Namibia.
NC Chairperson, Margaret Mensah-Williams announced the formation of the first Junior National Council (JNC) on Wednesday during the opening of the Fifth National Council.
Three youth representatives were drawn from each region and will be introduced to senior MPs in the NC the same day.
“This is a very important milestone geared towards achieving the NC’s strategic goal of ‘Enhancing public participation in the law-making process’, in this case specifically targeting the schoolgoing youth,” she said.
Mensah-Williams noted that the NC last year engaged the youth by way of educational theatre, which proved to be an effective tool.
The educational theatre included informative performances on the legislative function of the NC at various schools during regional visits by the MPs.
“Therefore, this year we plan to build on this success and utilise this tool once more to engage even more young people across the width and breadth of our country.”
President Hage Geingob officially opened the Fifth Session of the Sixth Parliament on Tuesday under the theme, ‘Parliament working towards the attainment of Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)’.
The United Nations SDGs are a set on 17 aspirational objectives to end poverty, fight inequality and injustice, and tackle climate change by 2030.
Mensah-Williams said the NC has a critical and unique role in Namibia’s efforts to meet and exceed the SDGs.
“This unique role is rooted in our work at the grassroots level and the rural and remote areas where the majority of the SDGs are targeted,” she said.