Translated Namibian Constitution to be launched

08 Feb 2017 19:20pm
WINDHOEK, 08 FEB (NAMPA) – The Namibian Constitution has been translated into eight other languages and is expected to be launched by President Hage Geingob later this month.
The languages are Silozi, Rukwangali, Khoe-khoegowab, Otjiherero, Afrikaans, Oshiwambo, Setswana and German.
Namibia is to celebrate Constitution Day on Thursday, 09 February, which is the day it was adopted in 1990.
The Namibian Constitution recognises the inherent dignity and equal rights of all Namibians.
Permanent Secretary for the Ministry of Information and Communication Technology (MICT), Mbeuta Ua-Ndjarakana told Nampa upon enquiry Wednesday the translation of the Constitution into other languages was done under the Harambee Prosperity Plan (HPP) pillar on Effective Governance to ensure that Namibian citizens are conversant with the laws of the land.
The MICT said about 38 000 copies of the Constitution have been printed in Silozi, Rukwangali, Khoe-khoegowab and Otjiherero so far and will be distributed countrywide.
The Constitution in the four other languages will after the launch be available electronically and will be printed for distribution at a later stage.
Parliament gave no indication on the activities that will take place to celebrate Constitution Day on Thursday.