Namibian women's rugby team to play Botswana on Saturday

14 Oct 2013 16:30pm
WINDHOEK, 14 OCT (NAMPA) - Namibia's national women’s rugby team will play its first-ever international rugby test match against Botswana on Saturday.
The game is set to commence at 16h00 at the Hage Geingob Rugby Stadium in the capital.
Twenty-nine female rugby players have been selected to represent the country against their counterparts from neighbouring Botswana.
This was officially announced by Robert Thompson, the chairperson of the Namibia Women's Rugby Association, in a media statement availed to Nampa here on Monday afternoon.
The rugby test match will be preceded by a match between men’s teams Khomas Knights and Hardap Raiders at 14h30 in the Navachab Mine Regional Rugby Tournament.
The selected Namibian ladies will be officially introduced to the officials of the Ministry of Youth, Sport, Culture and National Services and members of the general public at an event to take place at the Hage Geingob Rugby Stadium on Wednesday.
The Namibian women's rugby team, popularly known as the 'Desert Roses', will be captained by Geraldine Louw from 2013 league champions, Phoenix. The vice-captain of the team is Naomi Titus of Reho Pandas.
Entrance to the stadium will be a mere N.dollars 10 per person.
The Namibia Women’s Rugby Association thanked Namibia Rugby Union (NRU) president Bradley Basson and the union’s board members for their continuous support and commitment to the development of women’s rugby at all levels.
The association also expressed gratitude towards Caroline Garoes, the secretary-general of the Namibia Woman in Sports Association (NAWISA) for the accommodation of both teams, as well as the Namibia Breweries Limited (NBL) for its valuable contribution and Sybrand de Beer, the chief executive officer of NRU and staff for all logistical arrangements.
The 29-member squad is as follows:
Esmeralda Fusch, Farrah Fielding, Ursula Titus, Bernadina Buys, Selma Shilongo, Nancy van Wyk, Hilrid Mouton, Noami Titus, Fulchen Bock, Christelle Kotze, Nesceeneth Jansen, Shaday Eiman, Brumilda Bezuidenhout, Leonora Eberenz, Gaynorizza M’ Clobo, Bonita Jossob, Marcia Carew, Michelle Diergaardt, Lee-Ann van der Bank, Melissa Mouton, Yaneke Lawrence, Arranchia Loubscher, Geraldine Louw, Yvette Malan, Marney Tjiarua, Aurellia Christians, Sharnay Kearns, Letitia Slamit, and Christlelle Olivier.
The team manager is Lionel Muller.