Iiyambo elected Oshakati's new mayor

02 Dec 2016 10:20am
OSHAKATI, 02 DEC (NAMPA) – Swapo-party members on the Oshakati Town Council have elected councillor Angelus Iiyambo as their new mayor, replacing councillor Katrina Shimbulu.
Shimbulu, who has been the town’s mayor for the past 12 months, is now an ordinary member of the council.
Chairperson of the town’s management committee (MC), Gabriel Kamwanka nominated Iiyambo for mayor during the re-election of political office-bearers for the council here on Thursday.
Local Magistrate Makapa Simasiku presided over the election process.
Kamwanka’s nomination was seconded by another member of the management committee, Johannes Shilongo.
Members of the council who retained their portfolios are Ndamononghenda Hamunyela (deputy mayor), Kamwanka, Shilongo and Linus Tobias of the DTA of Namibia (ordinary council member).
Loise Shivolo, who has been an ordinary member of the council, has been promoted to become the third member of the three-member MC.