Okahandja-Otjiwarongo accident victims identified

12 Nov 2016 18:10pm
OTJIWARONGO, 12 NOV (NAMPA) –The six people who died in a collision on the Okahandja-Otjiwarongo road on Friday evening have been identified.
Spokesperson of the Namibian Police Force (NamPol) in the Otjozondjupa Region, Warrant Officer Maureen Mbeha said the deceased persons were identified by their close relatives on Saturday afternoon.
Former Permanent Secretary (PS) in the Ministry Fisheries and Marine Resources, Uitala Hiveluah and 48-year-old Ruben Pienaar, a member of NamPol who was stationed at Epako Police Station in the Omaheke Region, are amongst those who perished in the accident.
Others were identified as Werihongorera Kavari, 28; Prostasius Masaka, 28; Basillius Bas Kgobetsi, 30 and Friedrich Heinrich Brayn Tjombonde, 40.
Mbeha said Hiveluah was traveling with her son who was driving the Toyota Fortuner at the time of accident, while Pienaar, Kavari, Masaka, Kgobetsi and Tjombonde were all traveling in a Volkswagen (VW) sedan vehicle.
She explained that the sedan was coming from the direction of Okahandja, while the other car was travelling in the opposite direction.
The collision occurred at about 20H30, approximately 50 kilometres north of Okahandja on the B1 road.
Mbeha said the son of the former PS, whose identity the police did not reveal, is the only survivor of the accident.
Police investigations in the matter continue.