Nashilongo new MTC chairperson

06 Oct 2016 13:10pm
WINDHOEK, 06 OCT (NAMPA) – The Government Institutions’ Pension Fund (GIPF)’s general manager of marketing and corporate communications is now the new Mobile Telecommunications Limited (MTC) board chairperson.
Elvis Nashilongo's appointment was endorsed by Cabinet recently, along with that of the rest of the MTC Board of Directors.
Other new directors are Tulimeke Maria Wayera Munyika (vice-chairperson), Lorna Peyavali Mbwale, and Stephen Stuart Galloway.
Minister of Information and Communication Technology Tjekero Tweya announced the appointment of the new board during a media briefing here on Wednesday.
Nashilongo replaced Munyika as chairperson.
He said Cabinet also endorsed the appointment of the new board members for Telecom Namibia and Namibia Post Limited (NamPost).
Telecom Namibia directors are Johny Smith (chairperson), Irene Erna Simeon-Kurtz (vice-chairperson), Eino Emvula and Damoline Muruko.
Smith replaces Catherine Margaret Beukes-Amiss as chairperson.
Namibia Post Limited (NamPost) members are Evangeline Nangula Hamunyela (Chairperson), Muronga Haingura (Vice-Chairperson); Israel Uushona Dax Kalenga, and Perien Joenial Boer.
Hamunyela replaced Kalumbi Shangula as chairperson.
Tweya said the new boards for the three entities will serve for a period of three years, effective 01 October 2016.
He said the appointment of the new directors was done in consultation with other Cabinet ministers.
“I went to the database, got the list of people with curriculum vitae (CV), checked their expertise and continued with consultations to agree on my analysis,” Tweya said.
The State-Owned Enterprises (SOE) database under the Ministry of Public Enterprises has a list of persons who registered with the intention to serve as directors for any company.