Rehoboth hosts Annual Spring Bonanza

06 Sep 2016 17:20pm
REHOBOTH, 06 SEP (NAMPA) - Rehoboth was a hive of activity the past weekend when 15 teams competed in the second edition of the Annual Spring Bonanza for first and second division football teams as well as non-league football teams in and around the town.
The first edition was hosted in Mariental last year, with Try Again Football Club (FC) from Keetmanshoop lifting the cup.
The tournament started Saturday morning with the knock-out phase of the competition and ended on Sunday with Untouchables FC from Schlip crowned the champions after they defeated Airport Eagles from Windhoek 10-9 on penalties after a one-all stalemate.
Untouchables were determined to win the trophy they missed out on last year against Try Again after they lost 3-0 in the final. Untouchables won all their games up to the final on penalties apart from their first game which they won 3-0 against Impala Chiefs.
Untouchables defeated Selmeno FC from Klein Tsumis 5-3 on penalties in the semi-final, while Airport Eagles defeated Real United 5-4, also on penalties, in the other semi-final.
The coach of Untouchables FC, Morne Brandt said their hard work paid off.
“I am delighted with this victory after we lost last year in Mariental against Try Again. The boys needed no motivation because they knew what was at stake. Airport Eagles gave us a good game, but at the end we came out victorious after the penalty shoot-out,” he said.
Airport Eagles owner and coach Boya Boois congratulated Untouchables FC on their victory and wished them well going forward. Boois said the chances they had went to waste.
“If we had taken our chances things could have been different, but that’s how the game of football is. In the penalty shoot-out our goalkeeper did everything he could, but the players missed their spot kicks,” he said.
Untouchables received N.dollars 8 500 with a trophy and 20 gold medals, while Airport Eagles received N.dollars 4 500 and 20 silver medals.
Selmeno FC and Real United pocketed N.dollars 1 500 as semi-final losers.
The tournament will be hosted in Keetmanshoop in September 2017.