Rehoboth/Kalkrand accident victims' names released

04 Sep 2016 17:10pm
WINDHOEK, 04 SEP (NAMPA) – The Namibian Police have released the names of the six people who perished in a collision between Rehoboth and Kalkrand on the B1 road on Saturday.
Three of the deceased were teachers at MK Gertze Secondary School in Rehoboth - Detlief van Wyk , 38; Johannes Swartbooi, 36 and Josef Swarts, aged unknown.
The remaining three are Hendrik George Strauss, 37; Marius Isaaks, age unknown and a police constable, Ryan George van Wyk, aged 22.
Speaking at the weekly crime media briefing here on Sunday, the Namibian Police Force (NamPol)’s Head of Media Relations, Chief Inspector Kauna Shikwambi said the accident occurred at around 05h00 on Saturday, when a Nissan NP200 and a Hyundai Getz collided head-on about 40 kilometres from Rehoboth on the B1 highway to Kalkrand.
Both vehicles, each with three occupants, burst into flames.
In an unrelated matter in the Erongo Region, the driver of a Corsa pickup died on the spot when he lost control over the vehicle and it overturned on the Uis-Khorixas gravel road.
The accident happened some eight kilometres (km) from Uis.
Two of the passengers, aged 37 and 17, were slightly injured, whereas a 14-year-old boy was seriously injured and taken to Uis clinic for medical treatment.
It is alleged that a family of four was travelling to a farm in the pickup to attend a family event.
The vehicle reportedly caught fire, but the occupants managed to get out in time.
In the //Kharas Region, a 24-year-old man died instantly after he was run over by an unknown vehicle on the Noordoewer border post road between 04h00 and 06h00 on Sunday.
The deceased has been identified as Markus Mark.
The police have requested anyone with more information on the matter to contact the Noordewer Police Station.