Namibian athletes with disabilities demand allowances

25 Aug 2016 16:00pm
WINDHOEK, 25 AUG (NAMPA) - A meeting between athletes with disabilities and the Sports Ministry relating to improved allowances for the athletes was a “success”.
Namibia Paralympics Committee (NPC) Secretary-General Michael Hamukwaya told Nampa on enquiry that he was not present at the meeting on Thursday but was informed by colleagues that the parties reached an agreement that was welcomed by everyone: the athletes, representatives of the Ministry of Youth, National Service, Sport and Culture, as well as Namibia Sport Commission (NSC).
Seven athletes with disabilities on Wednesday demanded a meeting with line minister Jerry Ekandjo to discuss their allowances ahead of their trip to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil for the 2016 Paralympic Games from 07 to 18 September.
They threatened to boycott the games, should they not get want they want.
The athletes demand appearance fees and bonuses if they win medals at the Paralympic Games.
They were also disappointed because they did not receive any remuneration or allowances for their participation in the 2015 All Africa Games and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics World Championships held in Doha, Qatar earlier this year.
The Namibian Government has no policy that stipulates how athletes should be rewarded when they win medals at international competitions.
The Namibian Paralympic team travelling to Rio on Monday consists of nine athletes, four guides and seven officials.
They are Johanna Benson who won Namibia's first ever gold medal at the Paralympic Games four years ago in London; Johannes Nambala, the current T13 200m world champion; T11 athlete Ananias Shikongo who won three gold medals at last year's All Africa Games; and T11 athlete Lahja Ishitile who won a bronze medal at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.
Other athletes are Martin Aloysius (T12 - 400m), Elias Ndimulunde (T46 - 100m, 400m), Moses Tobias (T11 - 100m, 400m), powerlifter Ruben Soroseb and swimmer Gideon Nasilowski.
The four guides are Sam Shimanda, David Ndeilenge, Even Tjiviju and Andre Oberholster.
The officials are Chef de Mission Nicklaus Nghumoono; team manager Iitwayi Johannes; team administrator Memory Kahlari; athletics coach Hamukwaya; assistant athletic coach Ivon Perez; powerlifting coach Ndamian Ndengu; and swimming manager Sonia Lindemeier.