Oshana town councils renew agreements with CoW

24 Aug 2016 11:50am
OSHAKATI, 23 AUG (NAMPA) – The town councils of Oshakati, Ongwediva and Ondangwa in the Oshana Region on Tuesday renewed their cooperation agreements which promote social and economic development with the City of Windhoek.
The agreements amongst others entail the sharing of information on local and democratic governance and sustainable development programmes dealing with informal settlement and urbanisation.
The mayors of Oshakati (Katrina Shimbulu); Ongwediva (Angelina Angula); Ondangwa (Paavo Amwele) and Windhoek (Muesee Kazapua) signed the agreement at the Oshana Regional Council Chambers.
Kazapua said the agreements reaffirm the municipalities’ commitment to nation building, especially for local authorities who are responsible for improving the lives of residents.
Oshana governor Clemens Kashuupulwa emphasised the need for the four towns to work together in ensuring the fulfilment of the aims and objectives of the Harambee Prosperity Plan.
“Our towns should be eager to exchange experiences in different areas, whether this is economic development, infrastructure development, education, environment and tourism or the general functioning of towns,” he said.
Kashuupulwa added that through such cooperation, the town councils will positively influence the economic development of the towns.