UNAM retains trophy defeating Wanderers

14 Aug 2016 14:20pm
WINDHOEK, 14 AUG (NAMPA) - The University of Namibia (UNAM) Rugby Club beat Wanderers in the final of the Namibian Rugby Premier (NRP) League after an impressive final clash here on Saturday.
UNAM won the match by 44 points to 36 at the Hage Geingob Stadium.
This was the second time the teams met in the final of the NRP League. The university team that has now won the title for the second time in a row, beat Wanderers for the first time in 2015 to lift the trophy and on Saturday repeated that feat at the expense of their arch-rival.
Both were on Saturday equally strong as they displayed good rugby on both ends of the field, but it was the UNAM team that went on the halftime break leading by a single point at 25-24.
Wanderers opened scoring with the first try of the match and conversion but UNAM replied just four minutes later to level the score.
Before the halftime break, UNAM ran in two more tries and converted from one. UNAM also scored two penalties, while Wanderers scored three more tries and converted only once.
In the second half, UNAM continued the strategy and scored three more penalties, a drop kick and a last minute try which was converted.
Wanderers only managed to score two tries in the second half and only converted from one.
Speaking to the media after the match, UNAM coach Johan Diergaardt said it is an amazing feeling to win the trophy for the second time and he is privileged to be working with the youthful players who are hungry to win.
“We have been working on our line speed and it paid off today. All I can say is UNAM has a team full of young players and in the next three to four years, if we do not lose our players to other teams, we will dominate club rugby in Namibia.”
UNAM try scorers: Jerome Beukes, Sylvano Beukes, Leronzo Louis and Unomasa Kavita.
Louis ended up scoring 26 points, which consisted of one try, three conversions and five penalties, and Helarius Kisting added a drop goal to the UNAM scores.
Wanderers’ Riaan van Zyl scored two tries and Schalk Bergh, Heico Prinsloo, Stef Botha and Enem Kritzinger each scored a try, while Prinsloo converted three times from the spot.