Swapo's Okahandja district executive wants councillors removed

26 Sep 2013 13:00
By Mulisa Simiyasa
OTJIWARONGO, 26 SEP (NAMPA) - The Swapo-Party’s Okahandja district executive committee has urgently requested the party’s Otjozondjupa regional executive to withdraw the four local authority councillors representing the party in the Okahandja Town Council.
The letter seen by Nampa is addressed to the party’s Otjozondjupa regional co-ordinator, Susan Hikopua, and demands that the four Swapo-Party local authority councillors serving on the Okahandja Town Council be replaced.
The Swapo-Party local authority councillors serving in the Okahandja Town Council are Valerie Aron as chairperson of the Okahandja management committee, Mayor David !Uri-Khob and his deputy Paulina Kuyandeka, and Samson Mieze.
Earlier this month Aron and two other management committee members – Mieze and Andreas Bezuidenhoudt - were ousted from their positions in a vote of no confidence during a meeting.
The vote of no confidence motion was allegedly tabled by !Uri-Khob and seconded by Kuyandeka.
The Okahandja Town Council is managed by seven local authority councillors from different political parties; with Aron, !Uri-Khob, Kuyandeka and Mieze representing Swapo.
The three other councillors are Fredrick Shimanda from the United Democratic Front (UDF); Bezuidenhoudt who is from the United People’s Movement (UPM) and Esther Garoes from the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP).
The district executive committee wrote in the letter it had on 20 September 2013 in a meeting decided to recall its four local authority councillors based on several “worrisome” issues in the Okahandja Town Council.
The letter expressed the committee’s concern at the local authority councillors’ failure to “work with dedication and commitment in serving the nation at the Okahandja Town Council in the interest of the party and the nation at large”.
“The four Swapo-Party local authority councillors did not set any exemplary conduct or act in the spirit of comradeship with each other while serving the town council,” it states.
It further accuses the four councillors of having collaborated with opposition party councillors at the municipality of Okahandja.
The removal of the three councillors followed several allegations against Aron, which included allegedly building a double-storey private house on public land before that property was even rezoned.
There were also allegations that she had received a discount on the price of the property, and that the title deed is being disputed.
Bezuidenhoudt is said to have built Aron's house, while Mieze's extra earnings have raised serious questions.
The four councillors are also blamed in the letter of failing to show sincerity and honesty to their district executive committee on crucial matters which were unfolding at the municipality of Okahandja.
The letter, signed by committee member Patrick Xoagub, states that the disunity amongst the councillors also paints a bad image of the party.
“The Okahandja Swapo-Party district executive committee hereby recommends to you that all four Swapo-Party local authority councillors at the municipality of Okahandja be recalled and replaced with other dedicated party members,” the letter states.
Contacted for comment on Thursday, Hikopua confirmed having received a letter from the district executive.
She said the regional executive has now resolved to hold an extra-ordinary meeting next Wednesday (02 October), to specifically attend to the concerns raised in the letter.
The meeting will take place at Otjiwarongo and will be chaired by Hikopua and attended by the party’s acting Otjozondjupa regional mobiliser Steve Biko Booys and regional treasurer, Julius Neumbo, amongst others.