Amupanda Newsmaker of the Year

31 Jul 2016 20:40pm
WINDHOEK, 31 JUL (NAMPA) – Affirmative Repositioning (AR) co-founder Job Amupanda is the overall winner of the maiden Windhoek Observer Newsmaker Awards.
The glamorous event was held in the capital on Friday.
Amupanda was awarded the biggest award of the night - Overall Newsmaker Award - as well as the Politics Award.
He defeated President Hage Geingob, DTA of Namibia President McHenry Venaani; Elijah Ngurare; AR co-founders George Kambala and Dimbulukeni Nauyoma; Chester Kaurivi (the independent candidate who triumphed over Swapo in the Otjombinde Constituency vote) and Prime Minister Saara Kugongelwa-Amadhila to claim the award.
Geingob was chosen as runner-up in the Politics category.
Many other notable personalities across various sectors of the economy were recognised for their efforts in maintaining continued growth and success in their respective careers.
They include Minister of Health and Social Services Bernard Haufiku, Optometrist Helena Ndume, Former President Hifikepunye Pohamba, First Lady Monica Geingos, Environment Minister Pohamba Shifeta and Helena Namene (an education specialist) among others.
Pohamba was also recognised for his peacekeeping efforts in Namibia and beyond with the Lifetime Achievement Award.
Haufiku was voted as runner-up in the health category that was won by Ndume.
However, his efforts in ensuring improved access to quality healthcare earned him the individual Public Service Award, with Home Affairs and Immigration Minister Pendukeni Ivula-Ithana ending as runner-up.
Namene was the winner of the Education Award.
In addition, Shifeta was elected as the runner-up in the environment category, which was won by the Save the Rhino Trust.
Geingos’ diversified dominance in the business sector contributed to her selection as winner of the Business and Commerce category, with Martha Tilahun-Namundjebo as runner-up.
Deputy Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister Christine //Hoebes received Pohamba, Geingob and Geingos’ awards in their absence.
Heavyweights in the business sector such as Ohlthaver and List (O&L) chairperson Sven Thieme, Chief Executive of Namibia Chamber of Commerce and Industry (NCCI) Tarah Shaanika, Willie du Toit (Managing Director of F P du Toit Transport), and businessman Ben Zaaruka, amongst others, were contenders in the Business and Commerce category.
Furthermore, Kwaito musician ‘The Dogg’ snatched the Entertainment Award with rival Gazza chosen as runner-up.
The Namibia Institute of Pathology won the award for best State-owned Enterprise (SoE) against Mobile Telecommunications Limited (MTC).
MTC Spokesperson Tim Ekandjo won the Individual SoE Award, followed by Abrosius Katiti.
Ally Angula claimed the Emerging Entrepreneur Award from Collin Venaani who followed her as runner-up, while the Entrepreneurship accolade was won by Trustco owner Quinton Van Rooyen.
Knowledge Katti was voted as runner-up.
Brave Warriors coach Ricardo Mannetti won the Sport category followed by the senior national football team as runner-up.
The Windhoek Observer Newsmaker Awards are an initiative by Paragon Investments - the owner of the weekly Windhoek Observer newspaper to recognise Namibian personalities who have contributed to the growth of their respective sectors.
Co-founder of Paragon Lazarus Jacobs told Nampa on Friday no monetary recognition will be accorded to the winners.
“It is only an award and a certificate. Nobody will be given any money,” said Jacobs.