Mountain Rangers to contest Southern Stream playoffs

19 Jul 2016 12:00pm
REHOBOTH, 19 JUL (NAMPA) – Mountain Rangers Football Club (FC) from Rosh Pinah will represent the //Kharas Region at the Southern Stream First Division (SSFD) playoffs after they won the //Kharas Second Division on Sunday.
They beat Orange Rangers (FC) of Noordoewer in a round-robin playoff that started in Lüderitz on Saturday.
Mountain Rangers defeated Orange Rangers 2-0 on Saturday and 5-1 on Sunday to book their place in the SSFD playoffs scheduled for Saturday and Sunday in Gobabis, Omaheke Region.
Manager of Mountain Rangers Klaas Flowerinho Blom (not the Orlando Pirates player) told Nampa recently their dream came true.
‘Happy Green’, as they are affectionately known by their supporters, was established in 1997 in Rosh Pinah and only used to play tournaments in and around the //Kharas Region.
They registered for the //Kharas Coastal Stream in 2009 and won the Coastal Streams on six occasions.
“Every time we failed at the last hurdle to go through for the national playoffs. Finally hard work paid off and we will go to Gobabis fired up,” said Blom.
Mountain Rangers are a mixture of youth and experience. It has former national team and Tigers FC player Edward Fadiga Asino and former Eleven Arrows FC player Wakka Jossop on board.
“They bring much-needed experience to our team, complimented by the evergreen Ivan Vries. I don’t see why we cannot win the playoffs and fight to be promoted to the Namibia Premier League (NPL).
“We want to be the first team in over 10 years to bring the NPL to the //Kharas Region and more specifically, the south. It’s about time.”
Mountain Rangers gained fame when they defeated a hapless Rundu Chiefs in the 2014 Bidvest Round of 16 hosted in Mariental and lost their quarterfinal match against eventual winners African Stars in Windhoek.
Blom sent out a stern warning to their opponents that they will be coming to take it all.
“It is long overdue. This is the time for us to showcase our potential.”
Meanwhile, the North East First Division (NEFD) and North West First Division (NWFD) playoffs will be hosted in Tsumeb and Rundu, respectively from 23 to 24 July.
The following teams will represent their respective regions at the playoffs as winners of their regional leagues.
Omusati Region – UNAM Ogongo
Oshana Region - Africa Motto
Khomas Region – Sport Klub Windhoek (SKW)
Oshikoto Region – Oshikoto NamPol
Kavango East - Kangweru Black Tops
Kavango West - Western Stars
Otjozondjupa Region – Osona Millitary School
Zambezi Region - Bush Bucks
Omaheke Region – Kom Haal Hulle
Hardap Region - Reho Madrid
Kunene Region - Etosha United
Erongo Region – Northern Stars
Ohangwena Region – Ohangwena NamPol
//Kharas Region – Mountain Rangers