Geingob to attend AU assembly in Kigali

14 Jul 2016 09:00am
WINDHOEK, 14 JUL (NAMPA) - President Hage Geingob will attended the 27th Ordinary Session of the African Union (AU) Assembly of Heads of State and Government in Kigali, Rwanda from Saturday.
The assembly takes place from 16 to 18 July under the theme ‘The African year of human rights, with particular focus on the rights of women.’
In a statement issued on Wednesday, Press Secretary in the Office of the President Albertus Aochamub said the Head of State will depart on Friday to attend the AU summit that started on Sunday (10 July) and is expected to conclude next Monday with Assembly of Heads of State and Government.
The summit is expected to reaffirm the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa, especially women's rights, and strengthen African shared values in order to overcome current challenges faced by the continent.
“The summit is also expected to address critical issues on the free movement of people and goods, and regional integration in line with AU agenda 2063,” Aochamub noted.
Agenda 2063 is an approach to how the continent should effectively learn from the lessons of the past, build on the progress now underway and strategically exploit all possible opportunities available in the short, medium and long term, so as to ensure positive socioeconomic transformation within the next 50 years.
Aochamub said this year will see the launch of the AU electronic passport (e-Passport), which is another milestone in creating a strong, prosperous and integrated Africa.
The pan-African passport will facilitate the free movement of persons, goods and services around the continent, in order to foster intra-Africa trade, integration and socio-economic development.
The AU Heads of State and Government and ministers of international relations and cooperation are expected to be issued with the AU Diplomatic Passport during the 27th Ordinary Session.
Aochamub said the Ordinary Session will also elect and appoint the next Chairperson of the AU Commission as the current and fourth Chairperson of the Commission, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma will vacate her seat at the end of 2016.
The deputy chairperson of the commission, as well as the eight commissioners, will also be elected and appointed during the session.
The 27th Ordinary Session will be proceeded by amongst others, the 29th Session of the Executive Council from Monday to Friday, while the retreat of the Heads of States and Government on the financing of the AU is scheduled for Saturday.