Victory Race in Keetmanshoop this Sat.

07 Jul 2016 19:30pm
WINDHOEK, 07 JUL (NAMPA) - The third leg of the Old Mutual Victory Race will take place in Keetmanshoop on Saturday.
In the first race held in Oshakati on 11 June, Tomas Rainhold won the men’s race, with Sammy Tum and Uveni-Nawa Kuugongelwa finishing second and third, respectively.
In the female category, Lavinia Haitope was crowned winner, while Ndeshimona Ekandjo and Ottile Aimwata finished second and third.
The second leg in Swakopmund on 25 June saw Mynhardt Kauanivi win, while Rainhold and Reonard Namupala came second and third.
In the female category, Haitope won again, while Alina Armas and Ndeshimona Ekandjo came second and third.
Ahead of the third leg in Keetmanshoop, Melissa Goagoses, transformation coordinator at Old Mutual, told Nampa on Thursday they are optimistic that the turnout will be the same as their first two legs that attracted close to 1 000 people.
She added that a lot of changes have been introduced to make the race exciting for the athletes.
“We have introduced the plus-50 age category, which have encouraged more senior runners to participate and as usual, the winners receive medals, T-shirts and prize money.
The overall winners each win an all-expenses paid trip to participate in the Two Oceans Marathon in Cape Town.
The junior winners each receive a bursary valued at N.dollars 12 000.
The final race of the series will be held in Windhoek on 30 July.