Ngaringombe is DTA's new SG

04 Jul 2016 18:30pm
WINDHOEK, 04 JUL (NAMPA) - Immanuel Ngaringombe is the new secretary-general (SG) of the DTA of Namibia party.
He was the party’s councillor on the Walvis Bay Town Council.
McHenry Venaani made the announcement on Monday during a media briefing here on the outcome of the DTA's Central Committee (CC) meeting held Saturday.
Ngaringombe had been the party’s regional coordinator in Omaheke Region twice, and was also the regional secretary of the DTA in the Erongo Region.
He will be deputised by Linus Tobias, who was the DTA's councillor on the Oshakati Town Council and regional coordinator in Oshana Region.
This vice-SG position was also up for election on Saturday. The CC further decided to rename the position of secretary for finance to treasurer-general.
Former SG Vincent Kanyetu was suspended and subsequently expelled from the party along with the DTA’s regional coordinator for Kavango West Boniface Kashera and regional coordinator for Kavango East, Reinhilde Kudumo for their involvement in the unsanctioned sale of the party’s regional office in Rundu without the consent of the DTA leadership.
Venaani added that the DTA has been consolidated into one unit reflective of a modern Namibia and is now better-placed to respond to the challenges and needs of the Namibian public after members of that party unanimously adopted a new constitution at its CC meeting.
Since its establishment in 1977, the DTA of Namibia has been constituted as an ethnic-based alliance of parties and members could have dual membership through direct membership of the DTA and affiliated parties.
“Gone are the days where people's needs and interests, political or otherwise can be divided along tribal or ethnic lines. The politics of today is a politics of ideas and policies; ideas and policies that must appeal to every Namibian, irrespective of tribe or ethnicity. Our constitutional configuration must reflect the face of this new Namibia,” he stressed.
The DTA leader noted that in consolidating democracy within the party and ensuring that members directly elect their leaders; the power to elect the president, vice-president, chairperson, SG, deputy SG and treasurer-general has been removed from the CC. Those positions will now be elected directly by congress.
Their next national congress is in 2018.
He added that the party has further moved away from a 180-member CC to a “leaner more efficient” CC of only 69 members, in addition to those members who shall serve on the CC by virtue of their positions. Forty members were also directly elected to serve on the CC.
The Chief Council of DTA has been changed to the Elders’ Council and the party also created a term limit for party president of 15 years, retrospective of a 2013 CC decision.
Venaani has already served two years.
He is the seventh president of the DTA of Namibia.