Swapo elects district leadership for Arandis

21 Jun 2016 17:30pm
SWAKOPMUND, 21 JUN (NAMPA) - Helena Tsibes was elected as the new Swapo Party district coordinator for Arandis at the district conference held on 11 June.
She takes over the position previously held by current Arandis Constituency councillor Benitha Imbamba.
Swapo's Erongo Regional Coordinator Philipus Heita announced the new structure at a media conference on Monday.
Former Arandis mayor Daniel Muhuura is the information and mobilisation officer, while the position of treasurer went to Selma Shaanika.
Heita said the party is in the process of filling all vacant leadership positions in the district structures. Positions in Omaruru, Karibib and Daures are to be filled soon.
The positions became vacant after some leaders became constituency councillors, such as Johannes Hamutenya who is now councillor for Omaruru.
“For Omaruru, they already submitted three candidates for consideration and vetting by the regional executive committee and vetting before approval. The rest of the districts are expected to follow the same procedures,” he said.
Heita expressed disappointment with the Swakopmund District for electing a candidate who did not meet all requirements for the position of information and mobilisation officer.
He said this is not allowed as the party constitution states that any candidate must meet all requirements before being elected.
He said one of the requirements is that a candidate’s membership fees must be paid up in full.
“The regional executive committee and my office reject this move and consider the elected candidate as unqualified. I already requested the district leadership to submit new names for vetting so that we can choose a qualified candidate,” Heita said.