Welwitschias squad against Romania announced

08 Jun 2016 18:40pm
WINDHOEK, 08 JUN (NAMPA) - The Namibia Rugby Union (NRU) on Wednesday announced the team to face Romania on Thursday in the 2016 World Rugby Nations Cup.
The competition takes place from 09 to 18 June in Romania.
Six nations are competing: Romania, Argentina XV, Uruguay, Emerging Italy, Spain and Namibia.
The Namibian players are Casper Viviers; Gerhard Lötter; Johannes (Aranos) Coetzee; Janco Venter; Tjiuee Uanive; Rohan Kitshoff; Leneve Damens; Renaldo Bothma (C); Eugene Jantjies; Theuns Kotze (V/c); Gino Wilson; Johan Deysel; JC Greyling; Malcolm Moore and Johann Tromp.
The substitutes are Petri Burger; AJ de Klerk; Shaun du Preez; Tinus du Plessis; Ruan Ludick; Arthur Bouwer; Darryl de la Harpe and Heinrich Smit.
Kick-off is 18h00 Namibian time. Live streaming is available on RugbyTv.Ro
Namibia won the Nations Cup in 2010 and ended fourth in 2011 and 2015. They did not participate in the tournament for three years (2012, 2013, 2014) because only invited countries participate in this annual event usually held in Romania.
The Nations Cup is a rugby union competition that was first held in 2007. The tournament is aimed at providing more competition plus offering opportunities for second and third-tier nations that are still coming up in the world of rugby.