CORRECTION: Angula and Gome make a return to national team

26 May 2016 19:00pm
CORRECTION: REPLACE HEADLINE - Angel and Gome make a return to national team WITH - Angula and Gome make a return to national team.

WINDHOEK, 26 MAY (NAMPA) – National senior football team defender Da Costa Angula and midfielder Wangu Gome have been recalled to coach Ricardo Mannetti’s squad for when the Brave Warriors face Niger in the Afcon qualifiers and Cosafa Cup.
Mannetti called up a 26-men squad that will prepare for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers on 04 June and the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Cup that will be held in Windhoek from 11 to 25 June 2016.
During his squad announcement on Thursday at the Football House in Katutura, Mannetti said the squad will be trimmed down to 18 players for the game against Niger on 04 June in Windhoek and increased to 20 for the Cosafa Cup.
“I have called up a squad that I will prepare for the Cosafa Cup and I have excluded a number of players due to injuries or because of club commitment. I am confident that the team that I called up will be ready in three weeks for our game against Botswana in the Cosafa Cup,” he said.
Mannetti added that Angula, who has not been in the team for the past year, and Gome who has been left out of the team for the past two games, are back in the squad due to recent game time.
“I called back Da Coasta and Wangu to the squad because they featured in the last three games of their clubs and I have enough time to push them up to the level I need them to be.”
The coach added that Hendrick Somaeb is a doubtful starter for the game against Niger, while Ronald Ketjijere, Petrus Shitembi and Willem Mwedihanga will not be in the Brave Warriors team for the Cosafa Cup.
Forward Peter Shalulile might however feature in the match against Botswana, Mannetti said.
The Brave Warriors are also expected to play two friendly matches before the Cosafa cup.
Here is the 26-men squad in camp: Edward Maova (Civics), David Peterson (Tigers), Max Mbaeva (Golden Arrows), Virgil Vries (Maritzburg United), Da costa Angula (Free State Stars), Chris Katjiukua (Golden Arrows), Denzil Hoaseb (Black Africa), Tiberius Lombard (Tura Magic), Romario Ndjavera (Tigers), Ferdinand Karongee (Tigers), Edmund Kambanda (UNAM), Riaan Hanamub (Orlando Pirates), Oswaldo Xamseb (Tura Magic), Deon Hotto (Golden Arrows), Dynamo Fredericks (Black Africa), Hendrick Somaeb (Free State Stars),Willy Stephanus (Black Africa), Absalom Iimbondi (Tigers), Immanuel Heita (Black Africa), Terdius Uiseb (Orlando Pirates), Roger katjiteo (Black Africa), Larry Horaeb (Tura Magic), Ananias Gebhardt (Black Africa) and Patience Gaseb (Mighty Gunners), Wangu Gome (Bidvest Wits) and Benson Shilongo (Gaborone United).