Ondjodjo Swapo branch names sections after war veterans

24 May 2016 15:20pm
ONDJODJO, 24 MAY (NAMPA) - The Ondjodjo village branch of the Swapo Party has named its sections after prominent party members in the area to recognise their contribution towards the party.
Branch coordinator Gervasius Mandjolo told Nampa on Monday the Ondjodjo Swapo Party branch has five sections, which were officially named after local members of the party during a meeting held at the village on Sunday.
Ondjodjo is situated in the Oshana Region’s Okatana Constituency, some 10 kilometres from Oshakati.
One of the branches is named after Oshana Regional Governor and member of the Swapo Party Central Committee Clemens Kashuupulwa, who pledged N.dollars 2 000 towards the coffers of the branch at Sunday’s official naming event.
Other sections are named Tomas Shihungileni, Ruben Shilunga, Joseph Ashiyana and Shavuka Mungolongela, who are either ex-freedom fighters or former members of the then Swapo military wing, People’s Liberation Army of Namibia (PLAN).
Speaking at the event, Kashuupulwa commended the Ondjodjo Swapo branch leadership for deciding to recognise war veterans and freedom fighters.
Kashuupulwa stated that veterans and freedom fighters deserve recognition by the entire nation and benefits from the Veterans’ Affairs Ministry.
He also expressed dissatisfaction that it takes long for the line ministry to approve the recognition of some veterans of the liberation struggle and to start paying benefits that are due to them. Benefits include a lump sum of N.dollars 50 000, monthly grant of about N.dollars 2 200 and funds for income generating projects if they qualify.