Swapo celebrates belated anniversary party

22 May 2016 15:30pm
WINDHOEK, 22 MAY (NAMPA) – The Swapo Party held its belated 56th birthday celebrations in the capital on Saturday.
The party was founded on 19 April 1960.
Speaking at the celebration, acting Swapo President and Namibian Head of State Hage Geingob reiterated his call that nobody should be left out.
He said although there are good, well drafted and efficient policies that have been put in place by the government, those policies have not translated into concrete actions so that people can benefit from them.
“Then government was efficient and not effective. We want to be efficient and effective at the same time. Namibians are left out and have been left out from politics and economics. Must it remain like that? We are to talk about how do we address this issue and how do we narrow the gap,” said Geingob.
Economic development, he said, is the key that would create jobs.
This is all part of the Harambee Prosperity Plan (HPP), launched by Government in April this year. It is the country's blueprint to fast-track prosperity and the eradication of poverty.
The president then gave a brief history of Swapo, saying its forerunner - the Owamboland People's Organisation (OPO) - was formed by Namibian workers in Cape Town, South Africa during 1959 to advocate for an independent Owamboland.
When it was realised that Namibians all over the country were oppressed by foreign forces, the organisation sought a pan-ethnic independence for Namibia and the 'O' was replaced by 'SWA' from South West Africa, forming SWAPO, thereby connoting that everybody was oppressed.
“This transformation was spearheaded by the likes of Sam Nujoma (Namibia’s founding president), Mburumba Kerina, Andimba Toivo Ya Toivo, Jacob Kuhangua, Solomon Mifima, Paul Helmuth, Andreas Shipanga, Erasmus Erastus Mbumba, Emil Appolus, Maxton Joseph Mutongulume and Carlos Hamatui.”
The birthday celebrations were attended by less than 500 members of the public.
Dignitaries included Nujoma, Prime Minister (PM) Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, Swapo Secretary-General Nangolo Mbumba, Former Speaker of the National Assembly Theo-Ben Gurirab, Former PM Nahas Angula, Chairperson of the National Council Margareth Mensah-Williams, Governor of the Khomas Region Laura McLeod-Katjirua and Cabinet Ministers.