Tigers win big at NPL Awards

14 May 2016 13:20pm
WINDHOEK, 14 MAY (NAMPA) - Namibia Premier League (NPL) champions Tigers Football Club were the biggest winners at the NPL awards ceremony held in the capital on Friday.
Tigers, who were crowned the champions of the 2015/16 NPL premiership season last month, scooped most of the individual awards during the ceremony.
Tigers captain Absalom Iimbondi, who led the team to their second league title in 31 years, walked away with combined prize monies of N.dollars 50 000 after he was named the Player of the Season and the Players’ Player of the Season.
The Player of the Season award came with a N.dollars 30 000 cash prize, while the Players’ Player of the Season award was worth N.dollars 20 000.
Terdius Uiseb of Orlando Pirates who scored 15 goals during the season received N.dollars 15 000 as top goal scorer.
Tigers coach Brian Isaacs, who also won the league title with Orlando Pirates during the 2007/08 season and then guided Black Africa to an unprecedented four consecutive titles between 2011 and 2014, walked away with N.dollars 20 000 for winning the 2015/16 season with Tigers.
He was nominated in the category along with Paulus Shipanga (Tura Magic) and Lucky Kakuva (Pirates).
Leston Nangombe was named Referee of the Season and won N.dollars 10 000; while Alpheus Shipanga as Assistant Referee of the Season won N.dollars 5 000.
The MTC Premiership Chairman’s award worth N.dollars 30 000 was shared by Lesley Kozonguizi and Swallows Football Academy for their dedication to football administration and development.
League sponsors MTC also rewarded local football supporter Robbie Savage with N.dollars 10 000 and a cellphone as appreciation for his unwavering support of local football.
MTC announced that all prizes will be paid out next week. Tigers will receive N.dollars 1 million; Black Africa in second place N.dollars 600 000, Tura Magic in third place N.dollars 300 000 and African Stars in fourth place will receive N.dollars 100 000.