Botswana arrives for Cossasa games, Swaziland withdraws

09 May 2016 16:20pm
GOBABIS, 09 MAY (NAMPA) - Team Botswana arrived in Namibia on Sunday for the Council of School Sport Associations in Southern Africa (Cossasa) Athletics Championships to be held in Swakopmund from 12 to 15 May.
The team consists of 60 athletes, 20 support staff and 10 management members.
Speaking to Nampa on Monday, President of the Botswana Primary School Sports Association (BPSSA) Busani Segweni said they are aiming for top honours throughout the competition despite injury concerns.
“We are going there as hungry lions. We want to win this tournament. We intensified our training in field events and we are ready to compete,” he said.
Segweni said Namibia normally does well in field events but lack similar dominance on the track, which they (Botswana) will capitalise on.
“Namibia normally beat us in field events, but we will match them this time around. In previous years they always gave us tough competition but I am sure that this time around it will not be the same case.”
Cossasa athletics comprise track events including sprints, middle and long distance running, hurdles as well as field disciplines such as javelin, shot-put, high jump and long jump.
Namibia won the championships in 2013 and 2014. Zimbabwe is currently the defending champions after winning the competition in Lesotho in 2015.
Botswana’s team captain and discuss athlete Setso Rashaba recounted similar expectations of clinching more silverware at the championships.
“We want better results. We have been training hard in recent weeks and I am sure that we will be the champions,” he said.
However, some of the team’s top sprinters such as Letsile Tebogo, Moloki Matikiti and Samuel Matlou are yet to be pronounced fit and ready to compete due to minor-to-major injuries.
Meanwhile, Namibia School Sports Union (NSSU) National Coordinator Solly Duiker told Nampa on Monday Swaziland has withdrawn from the competition.
“They [Swaziland] just confirmed their withdrawal on Saturday evening due to unavailability of finances from the part of their government, but the other countries have confirmed their participation,” he said.
The four countries to take part this year are Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana and Zimbabwe.