Namibia Jukskei team ready for South Africa

06 May 2016 10:50am
WINDHOEK, 06 MAY (NAMPA) - The Namibian National Jukskei teams that will take on South Africa during the 2016 Namibian Open Jukskei Championships was Wednesday evening announced.
The tournament that kicked off on Monday at Jukskeipark in Windhoek's Olympia residential area drew around 200 players from both countries.
Namibian's team selector Gieliana Boshoff told Nampa that the quality of the players are of high standards, but only the best of the best will be selected to represent Namibia on Friday against their South African competitors.
“It is important that the person can represent Namibia as an ambassador and behave as such on and off the field.”
The panel had a difficult time selecting a team, but Boshoff said they are looking at players who can throw or deliver specific shots called for by the team captain. By this, she explained that a player must be able to throw and deliver his or her ‘skei’ or peg at a required spot to ensure the team scores 23 points or closest to 23. Apart from specific shots, a player must also be able to hit the pegs 80 per cent and above.
Dating from the days of when with ox-drawn wagons across South Africa was the main from of transport for long distances, jukskei is played using wooden pegs, similar to the pins of the yokes of the oxen - skei. The pegs are thrown at one anchored in a pit of sand, with the aim of knocking it over to score the highest.
In 1939 it became an organised sport with the formation of unions and in 2001, South Africa decided to include jukskei in the Indigenous Games Project (IGP). Ever since, it has grown amongst people of all cultures and ages.
Each team consists of four players, one of which is team captain (leader), each having two pegs to throw.
The Test between South Africa and host Namibia will kick off at Jukskeipark on Friday morning at 07h00.

The Namibian teams are as follows.

Senior men: Francois Boshoff (Leader - L ) ,Japie Dreyer, Francois Engelbrecht and Jurie Engelbrecht.
Senior Women: Ina Koch (L), Ina Dreyer, Engela Nel and Anelda Coetzee .
Men Above 50: Piere van Zyl (L), Francois Boshoff, Johan Viljoen and Chris Jacobs
Women Above 50: Ina Koch (L), Engela Nel, Elize Duvenhage and Ina Louw.
Men under 30: Japie Dreyer (L), Raymond van Zyl, Frikkie Cloete and Jurie Engelbrecht.
Women Under 30: Anelda Coetzee (L), Julizma Alberts, Maria Duvenhage and Ina Dreyer.
Under 19 Boys: Derrick Strauss (L), Corne Esterhuizen, Keith Du Preez and Rudolf Horn.
Under 19 Girls: Julisma Alberts, Maria Duvenhage (L), Zuretha Horn and Rene van Wyk.
Under 16 Boys: De Wet Strauss (L), Jandre Esterhuizen, Armand Combrink and Willie Eiman.