Namibia in final push for Cosafa Cup

07 Apr 2016 11:50am
WINDHOEK, 07 APR (NAMPA) – The Confederation of Southern African Football Associations (Cosafa) local organising committee says it is ready to host the 2016 edition of the Cup.
The 2016 Cosafa Cup will be staged at the Sam Nujoma and Independence Stadiums in Windhoek from 11 to 25 June.
Namibia are the current champions after winning the competition at the Moruleng Stadium in South Africa in May this year. The draw for the regional tournament is slated for 25 April.
Namibia was awarded the right to host the regional tournament last year.
A media statement availed to Nampa by the Namibia Football Association (NFA) on Thursday quotes the chairperson of the committee, Roger Kambatuku as saying they are very busy with all the work that needs to be done in time for the opening of the tournament on 11 June.
“Our first event is the final draw to be conducted on 25 April in Windhoek. Before that there are a lot of things to do for the realisation of the tournament,” he said.
The local organising committee is tasked with amongst others ensuring stadia readiness; catering and accommodation; transports; accreditation; ticketing for the championship and security and medical services for the successful hosting of the 2016 Cosafa Castle Cup.
Another event lined up is the Cosafa Castle Cup Trophy Tour, which will run from 30 April to 10 June from Keetmanshoop to Rundu, Walvis Bay and Oshakati.
Organisers are also putting together a 24-hour five-a-side football festival at the Football for Hope Centre in Katutura from 04 to 05 June, while the Cosafa Castle Cup champions, the Brave Warriors, will host a parade in Katutura.
Eight national teams will be in the bowl for the draw to go into two groups, after which the group winners will join defending champions Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Malawi, Botswana, and Mozambique in the quarter-finals.
The group matches will be played between 11 and 16 June, while the quarter-finals action will be on 18 and 19 June. The Plate semi-final will be contested on 21 June with the semi-finals slated for 22 June. The Plate final will be on 24 June, with the third place play-offs and the final to be played on 25 June.