Air Force headquarters relocate to Karibib

06 Mar 2016 10:30am
KARIBIB, 06 MAR (NAMPA) - The headquarters of the Namibian Air Force have been relocated from Grootfontein to Karibib in the Erongo Region.
The ministry’s spokesperson, Lieutenant Colonel Monica Sheya on Friday confirmed that the headquarters are now located at the Karibib Air Force Base, but would not say when this became effective.
Sheya was speaking to Nampa on the sidelines of President Hage Geingob’s first visit to the Karibib Air Force Base as the new Commander-in-Chief of the Namibian Defence Force (NDF).
She however explained that the Grootfontein Air Force Base is still operational, and that just a component of the operations made up of Air Force Commander Martin Pinehas and other force members who make up that specific component were relocated.
“It was moved because Karibib is more centrally positioned compared to Grootfontein. If you are for example to defend the capital city Windhoek, it would be easier to do from Karibib. The same goes for the Port of Walvis Bay.”
During his visit to the base located some 10 kilometres north of Karibib alongside the road to Omaruru, Geingob said his visit is aimed at familiarising himself with the activities of the Air Force and to meet the leadership of the force.
After a closed-door briefing, the President was welcomed with a K-8 fighter aircraft demonstration, followed by a demonstration of a soldier evacuation exercise via helicopter.
“After seeing the demonstration here, I am impressed and convinced that the nation is safe as long as the Air Force is in the sky,” Geingob said.
The Head of State encouraged the members of the force to have integrity as he said it is the most important element in building the country.
Started in 2008, the base is still to be officially inaugurated on a date to be announced.
Phase one, two and three of the air force base – including offices, a kitchen, runway, clinic and accommodation - are completed, while the completion of phase four underway.
Sheya could not specify what phase four of the base entails.
The Air Force is one of the three service branches of the NDF. The other two branches are the Namibian Army and Namibian Navy.