McHenry Venaani is new DTA president

08 Sep 2013 05:30
WINDHOEK, 08 SEP (NAMPA) – The DTA of Namibia’s McHenry Venaani has been elected as the new president of the party, defeating Katuutire Kaura who held the position for 15 years.
Venaani garnered 96 votes at the party’s elective congress held in the capital on Saturday, while Kaura only received 52 votes.
The vice-president portfolio went to Kazehongere Tjeundu who managed to get 82 votes compared to the long-serving Phillemon Moongo’s 60 votes.
Vincent Kanyetu is now the party´s Secretary-General (SG) as he stood unchallenged.
Jennifer van Heerden, who is the only female in the top structure of the party as chairperson, scored 81 votes, beating competitor Athanasius Mukoya who garnered 47 votes.
That position has been vacant for the past four years.
Sabby Cloete is the party’s new vice-chairperson as he was voted into the position unanimously, whilst the position of secretary for information went to Pastor Welton Luskin.
Nico Smit, a former member of the National Council, is now the party’s secretary for finance. He stood unopposed. Agapitus Andanga scooped the secretary for organisation portfolio.
Revolutionary songs and ululation erupted as DTA administrative secretary Rehabeam Katjiova, whose position was not contested, announced the election results at around 20h00 on Saturday evening.
About 140 delegates from the DTA of Namibia´s Central Committee (CC) gathered in Katutura on Saturday for the party’s elective congress.