NAMA2016 judges announced

January 28, 2016, 7:19am

The Namibian Annual Music Awards (NAMAs) has announced its panel of judges for the 2016 awards that will take place on the 6th and 7th May 2016.

DJ Lischen Khachas, DJ Oskido, Axali Doeseb, Jasmine Dotiwala, Tajuddeen Adpetu, Karina Barbosa, Leo Manne, DJ Lomo the Prince, Monali Shah, Gerald Johr, and Freddy Taylor have been selected as this years judges.

“We have once again carefully selected the judging panel with a good mix of highly experienced and respected local and international Judges,” NAMA said in a press release.

The Namibian Judges will judge all categories for the show, however international judges (DJ Oskido, Dotiwala , Adepetu, Barbosa, Manne, Shahwill) will only judge ‘Afro Pop’, ‘Gospel’, ‘R&B’, ‘House’, ‘Reggae’, ‘Acapella’, ‘Best Collaboration’, ‘Best Single’, ‘Best Song with Message’, ‘Best Music Video’, ‘Album of the Year’, ‘Best Male Artist of the Year’ and ‘Best Female Artist of the Year’, ‘Best Newcomer’ and ‘Best Group/Duo’.

With a prize of N$100,000 for the Best Male and Female Artist of the Year and N$50,000 for the Best Album of the Year, these judges will be evaluating each submission as part of NAMA’s mission to, “elevate and showcase the best of Namibian music, artists and produces to new world class heights as we aim each year to push the platform and showcase to new standards within the Namibian music and entertainment scene and on par or beyond the best the African continent has to offer.”

Photo Source: NAMA