Namibian U-20 Rugby Team Ready For Chile

23 May 2013 06:37

WINDHOEK, 16 MAY (NAMPA) - The Namibian under-20 rugby team will depart on Friday for the 2013 International Rugby Board (IRB) Junior World Rugby Trophy in Antofagasta, Chile.
Namibia will be part of eight teams alongside host Chile, Canada, Italy, Japan, Portugal, Tonga and Uruguay vying for the trophy.
Namibia will play in Pool A against Italy, Chile and debutants Portugal.
Jood Opperman, coach of the under-20 team, told Nampa during a recent practice session at the Hage Geingob Rugby Stadium in Windhoek that the recent regional tournaments which took place in Walvis Bay, Grootfontein and Keetmanshoop, played a major role in the development of the sport in Namibia.
He said coaches also made use of those tournaments to identify players who made it onto the shortlist.
The young players also displayed their skills when they beat the Namibian President's team by 74 -19 at the Hage Geingob stadium at the end of April this year.
The team will play their first match against Italy on 28 May under the captaincy of Gerhard Lotter.
The Namibians? second game is against Portugal on 01 June, with Chile to follow on 05 Jun.
This is the second time that Chile is hosting the prestigious IRB Junior Rugby Trophy after also hosting it in 2008.
The Namibian squad is:
Petri Burger, Quintin Esterhuizen, Carl-William Freygang, Dewald Coetzee, Hannes Dirsuwei, Gerhard Lotter, DG Wiese, Mahepisa Tjeriko, Janco Venter, Wian Conradie, Immo Dresselhaus, Charles Fourie, MC Jacobie, Dennis Jacobs, Ashallo Morkel, Ascher Coetzee, Carel Thomas, JC Winkler, Deslee Beukes, Cornelius Labuschagne, Daniel Arries, Ethan Beukes, Handre Bezuidenhout, Donovan Kandjii, Riekert van der Merwe and Denver Murorua.