Opposition in the shade at Oranjemund Town Council

07 Dec 2015 20:20pm
KEETMANSHOOP, 07 DEC (NAMPA) – The former mayor and deputy mayor of the Oranjemund Town Council retained their positions during the Constitution of Council held at the mining town on Friday.
This follows the 27 November 2015 Regional Council and Local Authority Elections conducted nationwide.
Mayor Henry Coetzee and deputy mayor Xungileni Ntinda were re-appointed in their positions.
The seven-member decision making body of the diamond rich town consists of six members from the ruling party and one from the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP).
Toivo Auala was elected chairperson of the management committee.
Simeon Angombe and Leena Vaille were appointed members of the management committee, while fellow Swapo party candidate Lovis Nghishidimbwa was chosen as additional member.
RDP candidate, Matheus Kambunga is the sole ordinary council member.
All are newcomers on the council except for the mayor and deputy mayor.