Bureaucracy hindering development projects:Neumbo

05 Dec 2015 13:30pm
OTJIWARONGO, 05 DEC (NAMPA) – Newly elected Otjozondjupa Regional Council Chairperson, Julius Neumbo on Friday expressed dismay with the slow pace of implementation of government projects.
Neumbo was speaking at the swearing-in of councillors for the Otjozondjupa Regional Council and Otjiwarongo Local Authority at the Otjiwarongo Municipality Council Chambers.
Neumbo is the Otjiwarongo Constituency Councillor and was on Friday sworn in as chairperson of the regional council.
Six other newly elected and re-elected constituency councillors were also sworn in.
In his acceptance speech, Neumbo said he has realised that many government officials often hide behind apparent bureaucracy to delay the implementation of government projects and programmes.
He accused government officials at various offices in the Otjozondjupa Region of being lazy and often absent from offices, which hinders the speedy implementation of government projects and programmes in the region.
“I declare war against this bureaucracy as it is blocking the implementation of government projects. Our officials are often absent from offices attending workshops outside town. But when we call them to a meeting taking place in Otjiwarongo, they simply don’t attend because there is no travelling allowance,” he charged.
Neumbo urged all newly elected Regional Council and Local Authority councillors to go back to the electorate and consult them on the different projects they want to see implemented.
He said he will see to it that less talking takes place at the regional council and more projects are tackled with a result oriented approach.
The Otjozondjupa Region has seven constituencies, with the majority occupied by Swapo Party councilléors.
They are Neumbo for Otjiwarongo; Laina Nekundi for Otavi; Tsumkwe for Francina Hishekwa-Ghauz; Grootfontein for Nelao Amagulu and Okahandja constituency for Steve Biko Booys.
The National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) controls the remaining constituencies of Okakarara under Vetaruhe Kandorozu and Omatako through Israel Hukuva.
All seven regional constituency councillors were present at the swearing-in ceremony on Friday.
Hishekwa-Ghauz, Booys and Nekundi were elected to represent the region in the National Council.
Otjiwarongo Magistrate, Jo-Rina Jagger presided over the ceremony, which was also witnessed by the Otjozondjupa Regional Governor, Otto Ipinge and several other community members who attended the event.