Hanu Kapenda elected chairperson of Oshana RC

04 Dec 2015 16:40pm
ONGWEDIVA, 04 DEC (NAMPA) – Councillor Gerson Hanu Kapenda of the Okaku Constituency is the new chairperson the Oshana Regional Council (RC).
He was elected into that role by fellow councillors here on Friday.
Kapenda was also elected as chairperson of the Oshana RC management committee.
Confirming his election to Nampa in a telephonic interview on Friday afternoon, Kapenda said all Oshana regional councillors, who have been elected during the Regional Council Election held in the country on 27 November, were sworn in on Friday.
The other members of the management committee are Adolf Uunona of the Ompundja Constituency, Andreas Uutoni (Ongwediva Constituency) and Elia Irimari (Ondangwa Urban Constituency).
Former chairperson and councillor of the Oshakati East Constituency Lotto Kuushomwa, Joseph Mupetami of the Okatyali Constituency, and Rosalia Shilenga of the Okatana Constituency have been elected on the same day to represent the Oshana RC in the National Council (NC) in Windhoek.
Shilenga also served on the previous NC.
Other members of the Oshana RC are Kaushiweni Abraham (Ondangwa Rural), Amutenya Ndahafa (Uuvudhiya), Andreas Amundjindi (Uukwiyuushona) and Johannes Andreas (Oshakati West).
Members of the Oshana RC are from the ruling Swapo-Party, with Kapenda, Uutoni, Irimari and Andreas as newcomers on the council.