Few surprises in Omaheke Regional Council Election outcome

03 Dec 2015 20:00pm
By Charles Tjatindi
GOBABIS, 03 DEC (NAMPA) – The just-ended Regional Council Election produced little surprises in the Omaheke Region, with most political powerhouses retaining their representation in the region
The ruling Swapo party was the biggest winner in that election, retaining four of the five constituencies it previously held. Swapo is now in control of the Gobabis, Kalahari, Epukiro and Okorukambe constituencies.
The party however lost the Otjombinde Constituency to an independent candidate, Katjanaa Kaurivi, who will on Friday be sworn in as the new Otjombinde councillor.
Kaurivi replaces Swapo’s Karii Marenga, whom he beat by a margin of 715 votes to claim the constituency.
Kaurivi earned 1 396 votes, while Marenga garnered 681 votes.
Swanu of Namibia’s Mati Ndjoze, a former regional councillor of Otjombinde, ended third with 267 votes while DTA of Namibia’s Lukas Katjiremba completed the vote tally table with 134 votes cast in his favour.
Discontent amongst the rank and file of the Swapo party in Otjombinde apparently led to Kaurivi resigning as a member of the party and contesting on his own less than three weeks before polling on 27 November.
Sources in the constituency told Nampa that many in Otjombinde had rallied behind Kaurivi as the party’s candidate during the party’s primaries, but Marenga was eventually declared winner, which appeared to have angered those supporting Kaurivi.
Otjombinde’s electorate has proven to be non-consistent over the years. Swanu, through Ndjoze, ruled the constituency between 2000 and 2010, while the ruling party had the reins over the constituency twice - between 1990 and 2000 and again between 2010 and 2015.
The region is now in the hands of a non-partisan councillor, Kaurivi.
In Epukiro, Swapo retained the constituency through its regional councillor-elect Cornelius Kanguatjivi who managed to ward off a strong challenge from National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) of Namibia’s Juda Hangero who scored 882 votes compared to the Swapo candidate’s 1 038 votes.
Nudo also retained its traditional strongholds of Otjinene and Aminuis constituencies.
In Aminuis, Nudo candidate Peter Kazongominja beat Swapo's Raphael Kavari by more than 600 votes to claim the councillor-elect tittle after he scored 2 413 votes, compared to Kavari's 1 785 votes.
The Otjinene race saw Erwin Katjizeu of Nudo emerging victorious with 1 529 votes over his closest contender - Swapo's Nono Katjingisiua's 965 votes.
Only Swapo and Nudo participated in the Aminuis election, while Swanu and the DTA participated in the Otjinene election with the two other parties.
DTA candidate Tjinouhona Kandjii scored 261 votes, and Swanu's Pejarukani Hiakaere garnered 78 votes to end third and fourth respectively in the Otjinene Constituency.
The DTA failed to make any inroads into the constituencies in terms of its results, while the diminishing fortunes of Swanu in the region was largely reflected in the results.
DTA's highest number of votes were received in Gobabis with 866 votes, while Swanu's highest vote tally stands at 267 which it received in Otjombinde.
All People's Party was also another party that performed dismally, gaining only 45 votes in the entire Regional Council Election. The party only contested the Okorukambe Constituency through its candidate Lukas Kasiki Mbangu
The Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP), which only opted to contest the Gobabis Constituency managed a paltry 464 votes compared to the winning candidate – Swapo’s Phillipus Katamelo - with 3 335. Foreman Kamehozu represented RDP.