Instagram's Most Popular In Music, 2015

December 3, 2015, 4:43pm


SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA – NOVEMBER 28: Taylor Swift performs during her ’1989′ World Tour at ANZ Stadium on November 28, 2015 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

By Hugh McIntyre, Forbes 

There is no question that Instagram has now become one of the most important social media platforms in the world, especially when it comes to younger generations, who prefer to communicate with visuals, rather than just with text.

Instagram has shared some insights into who and what was the most popular on the site this year, and while some of the listings don’t come with numbers, it is interesting to see what people feel compelled to share the most in photos and videos when it comes to music.

First, and perhaps most importantly, is the ranking of the ten most-followed musicians in the world. None of the names on the list come as much of a surprise, but their enormous figures do.

Combined, the ten artists have an unbelievable 425 million followers between them. They must be posting some interesting snaps, right? I mean, almost half a billion people can’t be looking at nothing!

10. Rihanna – @badgalriri – 30 million followers
9. Jennifer Lopez – @jlo – 31.7 million followers
8. Miley Cyrus – @mileycyrus – 31.8 million followers
7. Katy Perry – @katyperry – 33.4 million followers
6. Nicki Minaj – @nickiminaj – 39.8 million followers
5. Justin Bieber – @justinbieber – 45.7 million followers
4. Ariana Grande – @arianagrande – 50.2 million followers
3. Beyonce – @beyonce – 52.3 million followers
2. Selena Gomez – @selenagomez – 53.3 million followers
1. Taylor Swift @taylorswift – 57.1 million followers

Success on social media isn’t just measured by the number of followers one has, but by how much people around the world are talking about you and your product. The following are the most-mentioned artists on the platform and the songs that received the most mentions throughout 2015.

Most-Mentioned Artists

10. Miley Cyrus
9. Demi Lovato
8. Rihanna
7. Beyoncé
6. Selena Gomez
5. Taylor Swift
4. Justin Bieber
3. 5 Seconds of Summer
2. Ariana Grande
1. One Direction

Most-Mentioned Songs

10. The Game – “100 (ft. Drake)”
9. Ed Sheeran – “Thinking Out Loud”
8. Fifth Harmony – “Worth It (ft. Kid Ink)”
7. Ariana Grande – “Focus”
6. Taylor Swift – “Bad Blood (ft. Kendrick Lamar)”
5. Taylor Swift – “Blank Space”
4. 5 Seconds of Summer – “She’s Kinda Hot”
3. Adele – “Hello”
2. Selena Gomez – “Good For You (ft. A$AP Rocky)”
1. Justin Bieber – “What Do You Mean?”

Music festivals have become some of the most important events for both the music industry and millennials, and they have shown their love for them on Instagram. The following are the ten festivals that had moments shared the most from the festival.

The Most-Instagrammed Music Festivals

10. Stagecoach (Indio, CA)
9. Electric Zoo (New York City, NY)
8. Bonnaroo (Manchester, TN)
7. Ultra Music Festival (Miami, FL)
6. Lollapalooza (Chicago, IL)
5. Governor’s Ball (New York City, NY)
4. Made In America (Los Angeles, CA)
3. Outside Lands (San Francisco, CA)
2. Austin City Limits (Austin, TX)
1. Coachella (Indio, CA)