Nujoma and Pohamba vote at Suiderhof PS

27 Nov 2015 16:30pm
WINDHOEK, 27 NOV (NAMPA) – Former Presidents Sam Nujoma and Hifikepunye Pohamba cast their votes along with their spouses at the Suiderhof Primary School polling station in the Windhoek East Constituency on Friday.
Both were in a jovial mood when they cast their votes in the one-day Regional Council and Local Authority Elections along with former first ladies Kovambo Nujoma and Penehupifo Pohamba.
After voting, Nujoma told members of the media he is casting his vote for the continuation of peace and stability and further development in Namibia.
Pohamba meanwhile urged all Namibians to take part in the national exercise because it is their constitutional right as enshrined in the Namibian Constitution.
He said Namibians countrywide must go to the polls in numbers and cast their votes in accordance with the regulations of the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN).
The Governor of the Khomas Region, Laura McLeod-Katjirua and Secretary-General of the Swapo Party, Nangolo Mbumba witnessed the two former presidents voting.
The Minister of Presidential Affairs, Frans Kapofi also cast his vote at the Suiderhof Primary School Friday morning.
Three candidates - Raymond Reginald Diergaardt of DTA of Namibia; Ruusa Namuhuja of Swapo and Jens Schneider of the Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) - are standing for the Regional Council Elections in the Windhoek East Constituency.
Ten political parties are competing for the Local Authority seats in the Khomas Region namely All People's Party (APP); DTA; National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo): RDP; Swanu of Namibia; Swapo; the United Democratic Front (UDF); Workers’ Revolutionary Party (WRP); Republican Party (RP); and the Christian Democratic Voice (CDV) party.