EVMs malfunctioning at Katutura Community Hall

27 Nov 2015 16:10pm
WINDHOEK, 27 NOV (NAMPA) – Some electronic voting machines (EVMs) switch on and off by themselves at the Katutura Community Hall polling station in the Katutura Central Constituency.
“But when they are on again they are just okay,” said Erick Ngana, the Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) presiding officer at that polling station.
Ngana added that they experienced no other problems and people are cooperative with the officials in the 2015 Regional Council and Local Authority Elections underway countrywide.
One voter, Joseph Eiseb, 58, said Friday is an important day, because one is expected to vote and exercise one's democratic rights.
“Through voting you can choose a leader that can represent you since you can’t just go in the street and choose anyone to become your councillor or your governor,” he said.
Hilya Shivolo, presiding at Mandume Primary School polling station in Katutura East Constituency, said the process is going well, except for a low turnout of voters.
One voter who was standing in the queue at that voting venue said she came from the Namutoni Primary School polling station, saying the process is slow there and there are a lot of people in the queue.
Swapo, DTA of Namibia, and National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) are the three political parties contesting the Katutura Central Constituency seat on the Regional Council. The candidates are Ambrosius Kandji for Swapo; Bensen Katjirijava for DTA; and Joseph Kauandenge from Nudo.
The constituency is also being contested by Swapo, DTA, Nudo, and Rally for Dmocracy and Progress (RDP) for positions on the Windhoek Municipality.
Candidates running for Katutura East Constituency are Ruben Sheehama from Swapo, Dennis Owoseb from RDP and Ina Gouws from DTA.