Technical problem at Michelle McLean polling station

27 Nov 2015 10:20am
WINDHOEK, 27 NOV (NAMPA) – The Michelle McLean Primary School polling station in the Khomasdal Constituency opened for voting at 09h00 on Friday, two hours after the expected time, due to a technical problem.
When Nampa visited the station at 08h30, about 300 voters were queuing up to cast their ballots in the 2015 Regional Council and Local Authority Elections.
In a telephonic interview with Nampa, Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) Returning Officer for the Khomasdal Constituency, Petrus Ashipala said they could not start on time because of a technical problem experienced with an electronic voting machine (EVM) for the Local Authority Election.
“Yes we are experiencing a technical problem with one EVM and I am currently collecting another one from the ECN office to replace it,” he said.
Ashipala said this has been the only problem experienced in the constituency so far and other polling stations had opened at 07h00 as expected.
There are about 13 fixed polling stations in Khomasdal Constituency to cater for about 23 876 registered voters.
In the Windhoek Local Authority race, the candidates are from the All People’s Party (APP); Christian Democratic Voice Party (CDV); DTA of Namibia; National Unity Democratic Organisation of Namibia (Nudo); Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP); Republican Party of Namibia; Swanu Party of Namibia; Swapo; United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF) and Workers Revolutionary Party (WRP).
The candidates for Regional Council Election in this constituency are Sylvester Kazapua (DTA); Margaret Mensah-Williams (Swapo); Berholomeus Kauahuma (Swanu); and Uzikama Kandji (Nudo).
Polling stations close at 21h00.