Swapo, DTA and RDP to vie for seats in Oshana Region

22 Nov 2015 16:00pm
WINDHOEK, 22 NOV (NAMPA) - More than 86 000 registered voters are anticipated to cast their votes at 91 polling stations in the Oshana Region during the Regional Council and Local Authority Elections on Friday.
The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) coordinator for that region, Fillemon Shipanga revealed this in a telephonic interview at the weekend.
In the Oshana Region, with 11 constituencies, the elections are taking place only in the Oshakati East, Oshakati West, Ongwediva and Ondangwa Urban constituencies.
The Swapo Party candidates Joseph Mupetami (Okatyali Constituency); Rosalia Shilenga (Okatana); Amutenya Ndahafa (Uuvudhiya); Hanu Kapenda (Okaku); Kaushiweni Abraham (Ondangwa Rural); Andreas Amundjindi (Uukwiyuushona) and Adolf Uunona (Ompundja) have been elected unopposed.
The official opposition DTA of Namibia and Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) are challenging the Swapo Party candidates in the said four constituencies, as well as in the Local Authority election at Oshakati, Ongwediva and Ondangwa.
In the Ongwediva Constituency, Swapo candidate Andreas Uutoni will contest against Peter Mandeinge from the RDP, while in Oshakati West the ruling party’s Johannes Andreas will be contesting against Linus Tobias from the official opposition, DTA of Namibia.
Candidates for Oshakati East are the incumbent Lotto Kuushomwa (Swapo); Andreas Daniel (DTA) and Natangwe Shiwayu (RDP).
In the Ondangwa Urban Constituency, the candidates are Vincent Asser (DTA), Elia Irimari (Swapo) and Anna Nikanor (RDP).
According to Shipanga, 505 ECN officials will administer the elections in the Oshana Region.
Ongwediva Constituency has the highest number of registered voters at 33 165.
A total of 21 401 people have registered to vote in the Ondangwa Urban Constituency and 17 830 and 14 292 registered voters have been received for Oshakati East and West, respectively.