Geingob receives new Heads of Mission

19 Nov 2015 20:10pm
WINDHOEK, 19 NOV (NAMPA) - Six Heads of Mission presented their credentials to President Hage Geingob at State House on Thursday.
They are Helene Budliger Artieda from Switzerland; Sandra McCardell (Canada); Chua Thai-Keong (Singapore); Triene Rask Thygesen (Denmark); Trine Skymoen (Norway); and Chrissie Patricia Ndasochera Kaponda (Malawi).
These new diplomats also handed over the reports of their predecessors, after which they each went to have private talks with the president.
Deputy Prime Minister Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah and Deputy Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Peya Mushelenga also attended the ceremony.
After closed-door talks with Geingob, Thygesen told the media that her country will be focusing on working with civil society and some economic sectors in Namibia.
“With the climate change going on now, water is going to be an even more scarce resource in Namibia and we might be of assistance there,” she said.
Thygesen noted that Denmark is also willing to discuss the success of solidarity tax in her country in view of Namibia’s plans to establish a similar tax.
She said this tax has helped her country fund education among others.
For many years, Denmark had a tax system with which the government supported both the public sector and social service delivery by transferring money from the rich members of the population to the poorest.
It used solidarity tax as a supplementary tax to cover temporary financial requirements, rebuilding infrastructure and to pay for unemployment and welfare benefits such as free education and university education among other benefits.
This tax came to an end in Denmark a few years go after its purpose had elapsed.
Meanwhile, another group of six Heads of Mission was received by Geingob the President at State House on Wednesday.
They are Concepción Figuerola Santos (Spain); Joanne Lomas (United Kingdom); Jana Hybaskova (European Union); Cheryl Spencer (Jamaica); Joseph Gerard B. Angeles (Philippines); and Eleftherios Kouvaritakis (Hellenic Republic of Greece).