CoW honours long-serving councillors

29 Oct 2015 17:20pm
WINDHOEK, 29 OCT (NAMPA) – The City of Windhoek (CoW) has honoured long-serving councillors with the title of ‘alderperson’ for their contribution to the development of the capital and its people.
The conferment of the alderperson title is in accordance with Council Resolution 393/11/2010, which resolved that under Section 30 (1) (q) of the Local Authorities Act, 1992 (Act 23 of 1992), honours may be conferred to any person who has in the opinion of the Local Authority Council rendered meritorious service to its residents; and council expresses itself on the principle of honouring councillors for meritorious service either by the bestowing of an honorary title or award.
Former mayor Elaine Trepper and Boas Ekandjo served the council for 17 years and 15 years, respectively and both received silver medals and certificates of appreciation.
Member of Parliament and former mayor, Agnes Kafula; former deputy mayor and councillor Gerson Kamatuka; councillor Josheph Shikongo; and councillor Benestus Kandundu received bronze medals and certificates of appreciation for serving the council for 11 years.
Trepper, Ekandjo, Kafula, Kamatuka and Shikongo are serving in the council as Swapo members, while Kandundu served as a member of the National Unity Democratic Organisation (Nudo) before joining Swapo in October 2014. He lost his seat when he moved to Swapo.
Speaking at the conferment of the titles here on Wednesday, Minister of Urban and Rural Development Sophia Shaningwa, in a speech read on her behalf, applauded the City Council for honouring its long-serving councillors by recognising their contributions.
“The honours you are about to receive, albeit no monetary value, should instil a sense of accomplishment, a sense of deed, a sense of fulfilment, and a sense of pride in your hearts,” she said.
Shaningwa encouraged councillors to continue serving the community until all community members receive the necessary basic services.
“I would like to assure you of my support in your endeavours to provide adequate services to our residents,” she said.
Meanwhile, Windhoek Mayor Muesee Kazapua said these honours are specifically conferred in acknowledgement of the recipients' courage in shouldering the municipal leadership responsibility.
“As we honour the long-serving councillors, we take cognisance of the fact that the foundation they have laid forms the basis on which we focus our efforts and time to carry forward the development agenda of our city,” he said.
The ceremony was attended by over 50 Members of Parliament and current and former councillors of the City of Windhoek.