EBank welcomes new Board Members

October 26, 2015, 1:07pm

EBank today announced the appointment of Anne-Doris Hans-Kaumbi and Willy Mertens as its two Independent, Non-executive Directors.

“We are pleased to welcome our newest Board Members, whose appointment provides strong reassurance about the quality of strategic and operational guidance available to EBank” affirmed Monica Geingos, EBank’s Chairperson.

The new Directors replace John Steytler and Yvonne Dausab as the Board’s two independent Directors, both of whom have taken new responsibilities as the Economic Advisor to the President and Head of the Law Reform and Development Commission respectively.

“We look forward to the contributions that Anne-Doris and Willy will make as we continue to govern the strategic direction of EBank,” said Geingos.

EBank’s independent Directors bring extensive expertise and knowledge to the Board. Mertens has more than 15 years’ experience in the mining industry and, as well as being a registered Chartered Accountant with a Graduate Diploma in Engineering (Mining) from Wits University, he is also a Certified Internal Auditor with Post Graduate Diplomas in Accounting, Auditing and Taxation.

“I accepted this challenge because I’m excited to be part of a team that innovates and challenges the norm, pushing the banking boundaries with new age technology,” stated Mertens.

Hans-Kaumbi is a lawyer and Director at Ueitele and Hans Inc. Legal Practitioners, Notaries and Estate Administrators and has been in private practice for 13 years. She was further appointed as a Court-Connected Mediator in the High Court of Namibia last year. “In only a year of operation, EBank is transforming the banking landscape in Namibia, a vision that I am passionate about and eager to be part of,” affirmed Hans-Kaumbi.