Sustainable Development Advisory Council members re-appointed

21 Oct 2015 14:00pm


Cabinet has endorsed the re-appointment of nine members of the Sustainable Development Advisory Council (SDAC). Making the announcement at a media briefing here on Wednesday was Minister of Information and Communication Technology (MICT), Tjekero Tweya.

The council is responsible for promoting cooperation and coordination between organs of the state, non-governmental organisations, community-based organisations, the private sector and funding agencies on environmental issues relating to sustainable development, amongst other duties.

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment and Tourism, Malan Lindeque and Martha Naanda will continue to serve as the council's chairperson and deputy chairperson respectively.

Other members of the council are Deputy Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry, Anna Shiweda; National Planning Commission's Chief National Development Advisor, Annely Haiphene; and Director of Geological Survey in the Ministry of Mines and Energy, Gabi Schneider.

The remaining four members are considered public members of the SDAC and include Martha Mwandingi, Sioni Ikela, Dr Chris Brown and Dr Michael Humavindu.

The nine members have been on the council since September 2012 and will continue to serve for another three years. Tweya also announced the appointment of new members to the Bilateral Permanent Water Commission between South Africa and Namibia and the Multilateral Orange Senqu River Commission between Botswana, Lesotho, South Africa and Namibia.

The bilateral and multilateral agreements are arrangements in support of the development and management of international river basins shared with neighboring countries.

Cabinet endorsed the appointment of Ministry of Agriculture's Director, Maria Amakali; Deputy Commissioner of MET, Fred Sikabongo; and Ministry of Justice, Mathias Kashindi. (NAMPA) ANS/LI/ CT