Swapo wins unopposed in seven Oshana constituencies

21 Oct 2015 11:50am
OSHAKATI, 21 OCT (NAMPA) – Seven Swapo Party candidates were dully elected as regional councillors because no other political parties registered candidates to contest the Regional Council seats for those constituencies.
The Regional Council and Local Authority Elections are set for 27 November 2015.
Coordinator of the Swapo Party in the Oshana Region, Erastus Kapolo confirmed this development to Nampa in an interview here on Monday.
The seven are Gerson Kapenda of the Okaku Constituency; Joseph Mupetami (Okatyali); Amutenya Ndahafa (Uuvudhiya); Adolf Uunona (Ompundja); Rosalia Shilenga (Okatana); Andreas Amundjindi (Uukwiyuushona); and Abraham Alfeus (Ondangwa Rural).
The Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN)'s assistant coordinator, Julius Shongolo confirmed to Nampa on Wednesday that elections in the Oshana Region will thus take place in four constituencies only.
Swapo will contest the Ondangwa Urban, Oshakati West, Ongwediva and Oshakati East constituencies, while the official opposition, DTA of Namibia, will challenge the Ondangwa Urban, Oshakati West and Oshakati East.
Former opposition party, Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP), will participate in the Regional Council Election at the constituencies of Ondangwa Urban, Ongwediva and Oshakati East.
In the Local Authority Election, Kapolo said his party will contest for Ongwediva, Ondangwa and Oshakati town council seats.
The RDP is contesting at Ondangwa, Ongwediva and Oshakati, while the DTA will contest only Ondangwa and Oshakati.
“We are not participating in the election at Ongwediva just because of the logistical difficulties,” said Immanuel Shikongo of the DTA when Nampa asked him for clarification on Monday.