Naigambo and Kauanivi win Omaruru street mile

19 Oct 2015 13:20pm


Beata Naigambo and Mynhardt Kauanivi won the third edition of the Erongo Powersave Omaruru Street Mile on Saturday. The 1.6 kilometre road running race took place in Omaruru and 560 athletes participated.

Naigambo from the Namibian Police Force (NamPol) also won the 2014 edition of the race in the women's category. Her colleague, Lavinia Haitope, who won the maiden edition in 2013, ended second and another NamPol runner, Ekandjo Leena came third.

In the senior male category, NamPol continued its dominance, winning the top six spots. Kauanivi also won the inaugural competition. Johannes Skrywer ended second and Kaundinge Stephanus third.

A statement issued by the organisers quotes Ministry of Sport, Youth and National Service, Regional Sports Officer in Omaruru, Berthold Karumendu saying the third edition of the street mile was another huge success.

He hopes that in the next five years, athletes from other countries in the Southern African region will start participating.

Karumendu thanked sponsors Pasta Polana; Legal Shield Namibia; Windhoek Light; Erongo Powersave Wholesale partnered with Marathon Sugar; First National Bank (FNB) Omaruru; and Coca-Cola Namibia.