Baronice Hans 2015 Businesswoman of the Year

15 Oct 2015 19:20pm


Standard Bank Executive Director for Head of Personal and Business Banking, Baronice Hans scooped the 2015 Namibian Businesswoman of the Year Award here on Wednesday.

The awards ceremony was organised by the Namibia Economist newspaper to recognise businesswomen in the country and encourage them to continue performing well.

Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Finance, Ericah Shafudah won the award in 2013. The ceremony is held two-yearly. Hans also won in the category of Private and Corporate Sector.

She was one of the first qualified Chartered Accountants in Namibia and holds a B.Com Degree from the University of Cape Town (UCT) and Business Communications Honours from the University of South Africa (UNISA).

She joined Standard Bank Namibia in January 2009 as Chief Operating Officer and then moved to her current position as Head of Personal and Business Banking.

Standard Bank Namibia's management team, board of directors and staff members congratulated Hans on her award. "Standard Bank wishes to congratulate Hans on her achievement as the 2015 Namibian Businesswoman of the Year. She continues to play a tremendous role in effectively leading her team to success at the Bank," said Chief Executive of Standard Bank Junius Mungunda in a statement issued on Thursday.

Mungunda said Hans winning the award shows that women have what it takes to be an extraordinary success in business. Hans expressed happiness with the awards, saying it means a lot, especially given the calibre of the nominees she had met.

She was also quoted in the statement as saying that she plans to start a trust fund for destitute mothers in the country. "Our strength as women lies in the uniqueness of who we are and how we use that to inspire and grow others. Effectiveness in the boardroom is less about how much you have to say and more about the quality and relevance of what you share," she stressed.

The past winners of the Namibian Businesswoman of the Year awards since its establishment 21 years ago include Sara Elago (1999); Dr Christina Swart-Opperman (2002); Rhiana Potgieter (2007); Hettie Garbers-Kirsten (2009); Nangula Uaandja (2011); and Ericah Shafudah (2013).