Manufacturer Awards on 22 October

13 Oct 2015 17:10pm
WINDHOEK, 13 OCT (NAMPA) – The third annual Namibia Manufacturing Association (NMA) Awards are scheduled to take place on 22 October in the capital.
NMA Chairperson, Brian Black made this announcement at a media briefing in Windhoek on Monday.
The awards aim to recognise Namibian manufacturers who go the extra mile to manufacture and deliver superior products, goods and services, and to create a platform for members to showcase their products.
This year’s awards received 43 entries for the categories:
Category 1 - Corporate Manufacturer;
Category 2 - Small Manufacturer;
Category 3 - New Manufacturer;
Category 4 - Medium Manufacturer;
Category 5 - Ambassador for Manufacturing;
Category 6 - Most Environment Friendly Manufacturer;
Category 7 - Overall Winner
“This year, in response to our members’ call, we have added the NMA Medium Manufacturer of the Year Award.
“Previously, we only had the Small Manufacturer of the Year Award and then the big groups, meaning that if you were a medium manufacturer, you were forced to compete with the larger manufacturers and that is why we created the new category,” explained Black.
The NMA currently has 153 paid up members.
Etosha Fishing was crowned overall winner in 2013 and 2014.
Etosha Fishing Corporation is a leader in the Namibian fishing industry, operating a world class canning facility in Walvis Bay.
The 2014 awards received 37 entries.
First National Bank (FNB) Namibia, who is the main sponsor of the awards, sponsored N.dollars 75 000 towards this year’s event.
FNB Business Head, Johan van der Westhuizen said this is the second of their three-year commitment to support the NMA’s awards.
“We have a long history in banking business, and at FNB we believe in helping the communities we operate in,” he noted.
First Lady Monica Geingos will present the keynote address at the awards that will be handed over during a gala dinner.
This year’s theme is ‘Opportunity for growth between the Manufacturing and Mining sectors and Government’s role in the facilitation of this initiative’.
Winners will receive certificates.